Llanelli name side to face league pacesetters Aberavon

Llanelli return to Indigo Premiership action against early pacesetters Aberavon at the Talbot Athletic Ground on Saturday (2.30pm).

Head coach Phil John has made nine changes to the side that took the field in the cup defeat to Swansea last weekend.

Llew Smith starts at full-back with Jac Davies on the right wing and former Fijian age-grade international Ben Raivalitia – who has been training this summer with the Scarlets – on the left wing.

Academy centres Iestyn Gwilliam and Eddie James combine in midfield with U20s internationals Josh Phillips and Harri Williams at half-back.

Scarlets hooker Shaun Evans returns from injury and slots into the front row alongside Rhys Davies and Navy tight-head Ben Watson.

Christian Long skippers the side and packs down next to Scarlets lock Jac Price.

Iwan Shenton, Jacob Lloyd Lewis and Ben Williams make up a dynamic back row.

Hooker Lewis Morgan returns and is named on the bench.


Llanelli team v Aberavon (Talbot Athletic Ground; Saturday, Sept 24, 2.30pm)

15 Llew Smith; 14 Jac Davies; 13 Iestyn Gwilliam, 12 Eddie James, 11 Ben Raivalitia; 10 Josh Phillips, 9 Harri Williams; 1 Rhys Davies, 2 Shaun Evans, 3 Ben Watson, 4 Christian Long (capt), 5 Jac Price, 6 Iwan Shenton, 7 Jacob Lloyd Lewis, 8 Ben Williams.

Reps: 16 Lewis Morgan, 17 Tom Zoogah, 18 Ioan Lewis, 19 Caleb Salmon, 20 Nathan Hart, 21 Luke Davies, 22 Jack Price, 23 Tal Rees.