Llanelli to face Aberavon in season opener

Saturday 18th September is the date set to end the Indigo Group Premiership’s 18-month hiatus.

The Indigo Group Premiership’s 12 clubs have been divided into two pools of six – West and East – for the inaugural Indigo Group Premiership Cup.

Llanelli join Aberavon, Bridgend, Carmarthen Quins, Llandovery and Swansea in the West pool while Merthyr, Ebbw Vale, Pontypridd, Newport, Cardiff and RGC will contest the East.

In the hugely anticipated season opener Llanelli will take on Aberavon at Talbot Athletic, on Saturday 18th September, with Bridgend the visitors to Parc y Scarlets the following week.

The initial stage will be on a home and away basis to find the top two sides from each group. The winner from West will then host the runners-up from East in one semi-final while in the other semi-final the winner of East will host the runner-up of West. The date and venue of the final are to be confirmed.

Llanelli’s final pool game will be at Carmarthen Park against regional rivals Carmarthen Quins on Saturday 27th November.

Ticket prices and matchday information will be announced in due course.