2013/2014 Principality Premiership
Aberavon 22 v 11 Llanelli
13 March 2014 - Talbot Athletic Ground, Port Talbot

Match Report

Wizards Worthy Winners


ABERAVON gained their fourth win in five matches as they pulled away from danger in the Principality Premiership with a gutsy performance at the Talbot Athletic Ground.

Llanelli had the lion’s share of the game yet somehow only managed one try as the Aberavon defence battled gallantly to hold them out.

Dion Jones landed two penalties and just missed a third before retiring injured as Aberavon replied with a try by flanker Chris Davies.

Though fly-half Ceiron Thomas put Aberavon ahead with a penalty, Llanelli hit back as wing Dafydd Lewis crossed to give them a 11-8 interval lead.

Aberavon were without the injured Thomas and full-back Jon Phillips for the second half, but Aaron Jones came on at fly half and turned the match.

Twice the young Taibach pivot took a David Pritchard pass, scored solo tries and converted both.

Llanelli responded with non-stop attacks but suffered injuries to Steffan Evans and skipper Duane Eager as Ian Moore and his Wizards made tackle after tackle.

Llanelli went flat out for a five-pointer but it never came and they suffered their second loss in their last eight matches and their first without a point since last November.

Pritchard, back after five leg operations, was outstanding at scrum half for the Wizards.

Aberavon RFC 22-11 Llanelli RFC

Scorers. Aberavon – Tries: A. Jones (2), C. Davies. Cons: A. Jones (2). Pen: C. Thomas.

Llanelli – Try: D. Lewis. Pens: D. Jones (2).

courtesy of South Wales evening Post



Read more: http://www.southwales-eveningpost.co.uk/Aberavon-22-Llanelli-11-Supersub-Jones-seal/story-20811018-detail/story.html#ixzz2w6v5QioH

Official : Justin Williams (Wales)

Aberavon Llanelli