2009/2010 SWALEC Cup
Llanelli 42 v 20 Bargoed
20 February 2010 - Parc y Scarlets, Llanelli

Match Report

Llanelli overcome Bargoed in SWALEC cup

Impressive Bargoed shook the foundations of the immaculate Parc Y Scarlets Stadium scoring threee first half tries against 13 times Cup winners Llanelli.

In an enertaining opening period Bargoed showed the Llanelli backline the basics of off loading as they executed the passing game to great effect scoring three good tries from Darren Humphries,Lewis Protheroe and Mike Roberts.Llanelli's two best players Nic Reynolds and Shaun Hopkins touched down for the homesters. With Steve Shingler winning the kicking duel aginst Steff Jones kicking a match total of 17points from four conversions and three penalties.

It was not until Nick Reynolds scored his second try in the 60th minute did Llanelli take control and leading 28-20 going into time added on both sides would have settled for the eight points seperating the teams. However a penalty try and another quality try from 18 year old Dale Ford both converted by Shingler broke the big hearts of the Bargoed team as they went down 42-20.

Llanelli go into the draw for the quarter finals but Bargoed can be proud of the way they performed both on and off the field in a good SWALEC Cup encounter.

15.Dale Ford.14..Jason Howells13.Nick Reynolds.12.Steve Martin.11.Dorian Thomas10.Steve Shingler9.Justin James 8.Ben Morgan7.Nic Cudd.6.Duane Eager5.Aaron Shingler.4.Adam Powell (c)3.Ceri Jones2.Rhys Lawrence1.Shaun Hopkins.

Replacements/subs16.Trystan Davies(66)17.Luke Lewis 18.Nathan White.19.Steffan Phillips20.Craig Hawkins.(70) 21.Gareth Davies.(49)

Bargoed RFC

15. Lewis Prothero14 Gareth Dare13. Darren Humphries12. Rhys Humphries11. Lee Pearson
10. Steffan Jones9. Mikey Roberts1.Ross Jones2. Leigh Meades (Capt)3. Craig Nutt4. Criag Lynch5. Lee Williams6. Nicky Coughlin7. Adam Cullen8. Lewis Wayman

16. Ian Jenkins17. Spud Rose18. Grant Rogers19. Ryan Sadler20. Matthew Hutcheon21. Jamie Howells22. Dan Jones

Referee Simon Harries.

Official : Simon Harris (Wales)

Llanelli Bargoed